The newly elected Local Government Chairmen and their Vice Chairmen convened at the Government House Banquet on the 7th of December, 2020 for their swearing ceremony which would kickstart their 3-year tenure in office.

Governor Udom Emmanuel presided over the swearing in formalities of the new local government chairmen. They took the oath of allegiance in which they swore to do their duties to the best of their abilities in accordance to the Constitution. They also swore to preserve, protect and defend the Nigerian Constitution. Also, they pledged not to put their interest above the interest of their constituents.

The incoming chairmen signed an oath after taking saying it. The 31 incoming vice chairmen all took the oath of allegiance together with Bibles.

Governor Udom Emmanuel in his speech congratulated the Local Government chairman of Esit Eket who was selected as ALGON chairman. He charged them to work together with the state government to ensure they arrive at the completion agenda. He commended the peaceful election process that was the local government elections. He encouraged them to do the right thing despite oppositions and criticisms as those were inevitable. He urged the Vice Chairmen to work peaceably with the Chairmen. The governor also made it known that when he came into office, there were series of unpaid pensions from years before but that now, they had been cleared urging the new chairmen to do same.

The governor encouraged citizens who had questions concerning the state budgetary allocations to ask him and he’ll give a response. He also promised to hold a Q&A session where he would answer all the questions and concerns concerning the state’s finances.

The ceremony was attended by the political elite of Akwa Ibom state including  His Excellency, Governor Udom Emmanuel, Her Excellency, Dr Martha Udom Emmanuel, Deputy Governor, Moses Ekpo, Speaker, House of Assembly, Hon Aniekan Bassey, Former Military administrator, Idongesit Nkanga, State PDP Chairman, Hon Udo Ekpenyong, Barr Emmanuel Enoidem, National Legal Adviser of PDP, Senator Akon Eyakenyi, Former speaker, State House of Assembly Hon Onofiok Luke, Commissioner of Information, Ini Ememobong, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Ekerette Udo, Secretary to the State Government, Dr Emmanuel Ekuwem, Chief of Staff to the Governor, Ephraim Inyangeyen, Head of Civil Service, Effiong Edem Essien, Commissioner of Police, CP Imohimi Edgal, Chief Obong Afangideh, Members of the House of Representatives, Members of the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, President, Mboho Mkparawa Ibibio, Ati Annang, Oro Nation

After the oaths were signed, the 62 newly sworn-in Chairmen and vice chairmen took a photograph with the Governor of Akwa Ibom State.