Mr Greg Obi, the Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy and Community Affairs, announced this in a statement on Thursday saying the suspended monarchs travelled out of Anambra without an approval front the government.

Governor Obiano invoked the Anambra Traditional Rulers Law of 1981 to justify the suspension according to Obi.

The suspended monarchs include Igwe Alex Edozieuno of Mkpunando; Igwe Mark-Anthony Okonkwo of Alor; Igwe Chukuwma Orji of Ezinifite; Igwe G.B.C Mbakwe of Abacha; Igwe Chijioke Nwankwo of Nawfa and Igwe Nkeli Nelly of Igbarim.

Others are Igwe Anthony Onyekwere of Owelle; Igwe A. N. Onwuneme of Ikenga; Igwe Ikechukwu Chidubem of Umumbo; Igwe S. O. Uche of Ezira; Igwe Emeka Ilouno of Ifitedunu and Igwe Peter Ikegbunem Udoji of Eziagulu.

“During the sanction period, you are required to stop holding yourselves out as traditional rulers and to cease from discharging traditional rulers’ functions in your communities or elsewhere in the state and beyond.

“This sanction may be lifted at the end of one year or renewed or upgraded in the intervening period depending on government’s review of your conduct.

“By this sanction, membership of Anambra State Traditional Rulers Council is revoked, furthermore any appointment in other government committee is hereby rescinded,” he said.

A total of thirteen traditional rulers have been suspended in the state in the last one month.

Igwe Peter Uyanwa of Ukwulu, another monarch had been suspended in July over alleged misconduct by the governor for the same period.