As schools reopen tomorrow for exit classes tomorrow, 4th August, 2020, Akwa Ibom State Government has released directives to be strictly followed by members of staff and students. The #GetItRight campaign made known these guidelines to ensure everyone puts in their collective efforts in the fight to keep Akwa Ibom State free of COVID-19 pandemic.

The release made public by the Ministry of Information encouraged everyone to adhere strictly to all NCDC COVID-19 protocols and government directives as applicable to different sectors in particular, and the entire public in general. The regulations reads:


All returning students in exit classes and their teachers must wear facemasks.

Parents must provide at least 5 reusable facemasks as part of uniforms for their children and wards.

Schools must provide adequate number of classrooms for the students to ensure physical distancing.

Running water, liquid soaps, hand sanitizer as well as disposable tissues for cleaning of hands must also be provided by schools.

Schools must maintain clean sanitary conditions in lavatories and conveniences as well as general cleaning and fumigation of the entire school premises.

Schools must ensure provision of infrared thermometers and and make-shift clinics to take care of any sick student.

Schools should embark on training of teachers on COVID 19 protocols and methods of teaching in COVID-19 era.
No Assembly of any nature is allowed in schools during this era of COVID-19 pandemic.

Only 5 to10 minutes break is allowed for students, as students must arrive and depart at different times depending on subject schedules to avoid overcrowding.
Use of outdoor shelter is encouraged in the schools when the weather permits
Special toll free number would be provided to schools enable easy communication with the medical team of the Covid 19 committee in case of emergency.

Reopening of schools is strictly for SS3 graduating students to allow them sit for the WAEC examinations which is scheduled for 17th August 2020 across all participating countries.